How to uninstall OS patches and updates

Release Time
10/25/2018
Views
47 times
Category
Patch Management
Tags

  • The 'Patch Management' area lets you install and manage updates to operating system and 3rd party applications on Windows devices.
     
  • You can also roll Windows back to an earlier version by removing updates that have may have caused issues.
     
  • You can remove updates from all devices in your network, or from individual devices.

Uninstall Windows updates from ALL devices

  • Login to ITarian portal
  • Click ‘Applications’ > ‘Endpoint Manager’
     
  • Click 'Applications' > 'Patch Management'
     
  • Click the ‘Operating System’ tab if it is not already open
     
  • Identify and select all patches that you want to remove
     
    • Tip - click the funnel icon on the right to search for and filter patches
       
    • Tip - click the number in the ‘Installed’ column to view all endpoints on which a patch is installed
       
  • Click the ‘Uninstall Patches’ button:

  • Click ‘OK’ to confirm the removal

  • The uninstall command is immediately sent to all endpoints. The endpoints may require a restart to complete the removal. 

Uninstall Windows updates from INDIVIDUAL devices

  • Login to ITarian portal
     
  • Click ‘Applications’ > ‘Endpoint Manager’
     
  • Click 'Devices' > 'Device List'
     
  • Click on the name of the Windows device from which you want to remove updates
     
    • Tip - click the funnel icon on the right and select ‘Windows’ to view only Windows devices. The filter menu also lets you search for specific machines
  • Click the ‘Patch Management’ tab in the device details page
  • You will see a list of all available Windows updates
     
  • Select the updates you wish to remove
     
    • Tip – Again, you can use the filter icon on the right to search for specific patches
       
  • Click the ‘Uninstall Patches’ button:

  • Click ‘OK’ to confirm the removal

  • The uninstall command is immediately sent to the endpoint. The endpoint may require a restart to complete the removal.